Applications Close 20 Aug : Indian Maritime Univ


Indian Maritime University, a Central University under Ministry of Shipping, Government of India, admit students to its niche Marine Engineering related courses through a Common Entrance Test (CET-IMU-Eng) for which application process has been started for 2021 batch.

Courses offered by IMU : B.Tech (Marine Engineering), B.Tech (Naval Architecture & Ocean Engineering), B.Sc (Ship Building & Repair), B.Sc (Nautical Science), BBA (Logistics, Retailing & E-Commerce)

Selection criteria : Common Entrance Test (CET-IMU-Eng) for BTech and BSc (NS). Admissions in BSc (SBR) and BBA shall be based on merit of qualifying examination (no entrance test).

Campuses wise coursesIMU CET 2021

(i) Out of the various campuses of IMU, B.Tech in Marine Engg is offered at Kolkata, Chennai and Mumbai. Naval Arch & Ocean Engg is offered at Vishakhapatnam.

(ii) In the affiliated institutes, Marine Engg is offered at Coimbatore, Cochin, Chennai, New Delhi, Pune, Madurai, Mumbai.

(iii) In the affiliated institutes, BSc (SBR) is offered at Palakkad. BSc (NS) is offered at Chennai and Pune

(iv) In IMU campuses, BSc (NS) is offered at Mumbai, Chennai, Kochi

(v) BBA if offered in Chennai and Kochi  

Intake : Not specified for IMU campuses. Intake in Affiliated institutes is as below :

760 in BTech (Marine Engg)

160 in BSc (Nautical Science)

40 in BSc (Ship Building & Repair)

Admission dates

Last date to submit application online : 20 Aug 2021

Date of entrance test : 29 Aug 2021

Please note that CET-IMU-Eng has a date clash with CEE-Assam-Eng

Remote proctored entrance test : Please note that CET-IMU-Eng shall be conducted in remote proctored mode. Candidates can attend the proctored CET from their home. Desktop / Laptop with a webcam is necessary in order to appear for Proctored CET. No other device will be allowed.

About Indian Maritime University (IMU) : IMU was established on Nov 14, 2008 as a teaching and affiliating university under the Ministry of Shipping, Government of India, with Chennai as headquarters. There were 7 renowned legacy teaching-cum-research institutes under the Ministry of Shipping, and these were subsumed under the Indian Maritime University in November 2008. The 3 institutes in Mumbai, namely, the Training Ship Chanakya, the Lal Bahadur Shastri College of Advanced Maritime Studies & Research, and the Marine Engineering Research Institute became the Mumbai Campus of the Indian Maritime University. The 2 institutes in Kolkata, namely, the Marine Engineering Research Institute and the Indian Institute of Port Management became the Kolkata Campus of the University. The National Ship Design and Research Centre in Visakhapatnam and the National Maritime Academy in Chennai became the Visakhapatnam and Chennai Campuses respectively of the University. Post- November 2008, Kochi Campus was set up - in 2009. The University also has 17 Affiliated Institutes.


-- MEP News Bureau