Part 2 : No Physics Required for these 10 Fantastic Options


This is the second part of the blog No Physics Required for these 10 Fantastic Options published earlier.  In the first part, we shared how meritorious students are slowly opting for programs that are focussing on programs that are data oriented and analytical (click HERE to go through the first part). Many of these specialized programs do not require Physics / Science as mandatory subjects.  In the second part of the blog, we shall explore five more options that students (Science, Commerce or Humanities) could consider.  

5. B.Sc. (H) Mathematics and Computer Science in Chennai Mathematical Institute

Chennai Mathematical Institute (CMI), a Deemed University under Section 3 of the UGC Act 1956, is recognized both within the country and abroad as one of the important centres in India for research and teaching in mathematical sciences. Founded in 1989 as part of the SPIC Science Foundation, it has been an autonomous institute since 1996. The research groups in Mathematics and Computer Science at CMI are among the best known in the country. The Institute receives substantial support for its activities from the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE).

The Admissions to the B.Sc (H) program is via an Entrance Test. Students with exceptionally good performance in National Science Olympiads may be exempted from writing the entrance examination at the discretion of the Admissions Committee.

The teaching programmes at CMI are run in cooperation with the Institute of Mathematical Sciences (IMSc), Chennai. The courses are taught by the faculty of CMI and IMSc well as distinguished visiting scientists from other academic institutions such as the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), Mumbai, the Indian Statistical Institute (ISI), IGCAR, Kalpakkam, IIT Madras, Chennai, the Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA), Pune and the Eole Normale Superieure (ENS), Paris.

► Check details @ CMI-Maths-BSc


6. BSc (H) Mathematics and Computing in IOMA Bhubaneswar

Institute of Mathematics and Applications (IOMA) was established by the Government of Odisha in 1999, vide the Resolution of the Government of Odisha, Science and Technology Department with wide ranging aims and objectives. Since its inception, consistent with its aims and objectives, it has been active in searching and nurturing talents in mathematics by organizing training and interactive camps for successful students in various mathematical Olympiads.

To be eligible for admission (through an entrance exam), candidates should have passed Higher Secondary or equivalent examination with Mathematics and English as a subject.

Students finishing B.Sc. (Hons.) in Mathematics and Computing from this Institute have joined in Masters Degree courses and integrated Ph.D. programmes in IISc, IITs, IMSc, ISI, CMI, TIFR, IISERs, NITs, ISM, Central / State and reputed foreign Universities.

► Check details IOMA-Maths-BSc


7. Integrated 5 Year MSc in (a) Mathematical Sciences (b) Chemical Sciences (c) Systems Biology (d) Health Psychology in University of Hyderabad

The University of Hyderabad, ranked 5 by NIRF in 2018, is a premier institution of postgraduate teaching and research in the country, established in 1974 as a Central University, wholly funded by the University Grants Commission. Spread over 2000 acre, it runs 12 schools of study. The Schools of Mathematics and Statistics, Computer and Information Sciences, Chemistry, Economics, Management Studies, and Engineering Sciences & Technology are single discipline schools and the others are multi-department schools.

To be eligible for admission, students should have passed 10+2 (or equivalent) with science subjects (Arts and Sciences for Health Psychology).

► Check details UOH-Spl-Sciences


8. Integ 5 Yrear M.Sc in Software Systems / Data Science / Decision and Computing Science in Coimbatore Institute of Technology

Coimbatore Institute of Technology (CIT), Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, was established in 1956. CIT is affiliated to the Anna University, Chennai, India. CIT offers 9 Under Graduate Academic Programmes and 12 Post Graduate Academic Programmes in addition to M.S. and Ph.D. Research Programmes. It is one of the very few institutes offering these nice courses.

It is important to note that for Decision & Computing Sciences course, students from Commerce stream are also eligible. The eligibility criteria for this is a Pass in HSC or Equivalent exam with one subject from each of the following categories A and B as two of the four subjects of study  (a) Mathematics/Business Mathematics / Statistics (b) Physics / Commerce / Economics / Accountacy / Computer Science.

► Check details CIT-MSc(Integrated)


9. B.Sc (Hons) Maths at Banaras Hindu University  

Ranked 3 by NIRF in 2018, Banaras Hindu University (BHU) is an internationally reputed temple of learning, situated in the holy city of Varanasi and was founded by Pandit Madan Mohan Malaviya, in 1916 with cooperation of great personalities like Dr Annie Besant, who viewed it as the University of India. Banaras Hindu University is a Central University and was created under the Parliamentary legislation - B.H.U. Act 1915.  It has a phenomenal range of teaching disciplines incorporating almost all conceivable subjects of Science, Engineering & Technology, Humanities, Social Sciences, Commerce, Law, Education, Visual Arts, Performing Arts, Sanskrit Vidya Dharm Vigyan, Architecture, Library Science, Journalism and a large number of Indian and Foreign Languages. It is the largest residential University in Asia, with over 30,000 students from India and 46 foreign countries. It has 64 hostels with nearly 11,000 inmates.

► Check details BHU-UET-BSc-Maths


10. B.Sc. at Azim Premji University 

Azim Premji University offers 3  year Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) and Bachelor of Science (B.Sc) degrees in Economics, Humanities, Biology or Physics.

Azim Premji University is a Private university located in Bengaluru.  The university has 5 schools and centres : School of Education, School of Development, School of Policy & Governance, School of Liberal Studies, School of Continuing Education & Univ Resource Centre.

Like in western universities, Azim Premji University, follows the credit score approach, wherein specializations are offered through a combination of Majors and Minors to build disciplinary knowledge and appreciate the subject.  
1. Course Strcuture: 84 credits  (96 credits for Honours program)
2. All students will be required to complete a total of 36 credits as part of the common curriculum which includes Foundation, Understanding India, and Creative Expressions.
3. Specialization credits required: 48
- Students studying Physics or Biology as a major, will take up 8 core courses and 3 electives. (33 credits)
- Students studying Physics or Biology as a minor, will take up 4 core courses and 1 elective course. (15 credits)

► Check details APU-B.Sc-Phy-Bio

Author: Neelesh Budhiraja